Traffic & Safety Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Traffic and Safety Committee reviews and advises the City Council on issues related to traffic laws and community safety regulations, including parking and speed restrictions, traffic control signs and signals, traffic calming, and school crossings. Meetings are held on an as-needed basis or at the discretion of the Committee Chair.

Upon recommendation of the Mayor and appointment by the Council, the Traffic & Safety Committee is a nine-member board, which includes representatives from City Council, Planning Commission and Park & Activities Commission as well as six at-large residents.  All Committee Members serve as volunteers. In all cases, the Committee's actions are subject to review and final approval by the City Council. Committee members serve a one-year term. 

Each year, the City Council reviews the Committee make-up and may appoint new Committee members if a vacancy exists. For questions regarding the appointment process or to submit an application, please contact Lauren Pettit, City Clerk at (310) 377-1577, ext. 102 or by e-mail at


For Traffic & Safety Committee Agendas and Minutes, please click HERE.