Equestrian Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


2020 Equestrian Committee 

 Councilmember Judy Mitchell, Chair
 Planning Commissioner, Tim Zigrang
 Park & Activities Commissioner, Valerie Ciarolla
 Susan Brtis
Patricia Harik
Sean Martin
Alexis Nilsen
 Dan Porter
Vicki Shinn
Carrie Silvano

The Equestrian Committee reviews and advises the City Council on specific items of concern within the City’s equestrian community, including the use of horse arenas and trails. The Committee also assists in planning annual City events, such as the Mayor’s Breakfast Ride, City Celebration, and Peninsula Holiday Parade. 

Upon recommendation of the Mayor and appointment by the Council, the Equestrian Committee is a 10-member board, which includes representatives from City Council, Planning Commission and Park & Activities Commission as well as seven at-large residents.  All Committee Members serve as volunteers. In all cases, their actions are subject to review and final approval by the City Council. Committee members serve a one-year term. 

Each year, the City Council reviews the Committee make-up and may appoint new Committee members if a vacancy exists. 


For questions regarding the appointment process, please contact Lauren Pettit, City Clerk/Executive Assistant, at (310) 377-1577, ext. 102 or at LaurenP@RollingHillsEstatesCA.gov.        

Meeting Times: Regular meetings are held in the Council Chambers at 7:00 p.m. the FOURTH MONDAY of each month.  For Equestrian Committee Agendas and Minutes, please click HERE.

Qualifications: Each Committee Member must be a resident of the City and is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the City Council.  

Compensation: No compensation is provided to City Committee Members.

Correspondence: Written correspondence to  the Equestrian Committee may be forwarded to Community Services Supervisor, Cynthia Morquecho at cynthiam@rollinghillsestatesca.gov.